Municipal Type and Naming

Municipality Type

Part of the reform process calls for the new entities to choose or confirm a municipal type for the new entity. Choices include City, Town, Village, Rural Community, and Regional Municipality. The Transition Committee has chosen to remain a Town.


All 78 of the new municipalities will be created by regulation and therefore must specify a name. As was the case with municipal type, the Transition Committee has chosen to maintain the name "Town of Saint Andrews".